Leanne Rorick is on the board at Rochester Spinal Association. Photo provided by Rochester Spinal Association

The Rochester Spinal Association [RSA] recently announced that Amy Scaramuzzino will serve as President of the Board of Directors. Scaramuzzino is a founding member of RSA and has volunteered in a variety of capacities since 2000. “I am delighted to have an opportunity to lead this dynamic organization as we enter a new phase of growth. The challenges of the pandemic have created new options for us to connect with the spinal cord disability community. I am laser-focused on providing opportunities to connect with a community who often faces isolation,” she said. Scaramuzzino is a retired educator and resides in Irondequoit.

Scaramuzzino assumes the role of president from John Casey of Canandaigua, who served from 2013 – 2020. “We are all so grateful to John for his outstanding leadership. He brought RSA to a new level with strategic planning and fundraising, which provided the resources for RSA to enhance the quality of life for hundreds of people throughout the spinal cord community”, Scaramuzzino said.

In addition, two new Board members were appointed: Lesley Niebel and Leanne Rorick.

Leanne Rorick is the Director of Lifespan’s NY Connects, a program of NYS’s federally funded Aging and Disability Resource Center. NY Connects provides free and unbiased information about long term services and supports in New York State for people with disabilities, individuals over age 60 and caregivers. Leanne was formerly a certified New York State Long Term Care Ombudsman Program Coordinator at Lifespan, and President of the New York State Ombudsman Alliance. Leanne resides in Honeoye Falls.

Lesley Niebel is an attorney with Faraci Lange. At Faraci Lange, Lesley focuses her practice on all aspects of personal injury. Lesley volunteers with the Volunteer Legal Services Project and the Greater Rochester Association for Women Attorneys as co-chair of the Women’s Health Committee.

“Our Board of Directors is comprised of a dedicated team of community leaders committed to providing strength, stability and self-reliance for the spinal cord injury community throughout the Greater Rochester community,” said Chris Hildebrant, Executive Director. “We are excited to channel Lesley’s and Leanne’s talents, expertise and energy into furthering our mission.”

Other officers elected include Betsy Saxe of Henrietta as Vice-President, Cathy Flanagan, RN of Brighton as Treasurer and Susan Shepherd of Henrietta as Secretary. RSA Board Members are Amanda Corona, Scott Frail, Craig Lending, Jan Miller, Lesley Niebel, Esq., Leanne Rorick, Rick Saxe, and Christian Valentino, Esq. Chris Hilderbrant is Rochester Spinal Association’s Executive Director.

The mission of the Rochester Spinal Association is to enhance the quality of life of all people living with spinal cord disability. For more information on grants, programs, advocacy or educational programs, please contact the Rochester Spinal Association at 585-234-3269 or by emailing childerbrant@rochesterspinalassociation.org. For more information regarding RSA, please visit www.rochesterspinalassociation.org.

©2021 MHFL Sentinel


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?