Dinolfo And County Legislators Honor 2017 Youth Award Recipients

Robert Meehan (center) accepts the Willie Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the year Award at the Monroe County Youth Awards Night last month. Submitted photo

Monroe County Executive Cheryl Dinolfo and County Legislature President Anthony J. Daniele honored the recipients of the 2017 Young Citizen of the Year and Willie W. Lightfoot Youth Advocate of the Year Awards, at a ceremony last month at Monroe Community College Theater.

“Young people and youth advocates in this community represent the bright future of Monroe County and the Monroe County Legislative Youth Awards are a great way to honor these individuals for their outstanding accomplishments,” said Dinolfo. “I am proud of all of tonight’s Young Citizen Award and Youth Advocate Award winners and I thank my partners in government in the Monroe County Legislature for joining me in this celebration.”

For the past twenty-four years, the Monroe County Legislature has worked in partnership with the Rochester-Monroe County Youth Bureau to identify and honor exceptional youth and youth advocates for their contributions to our community.

“As President of the Legislature, the Monroe County Youth Award Ceremony is an event that I look forward to each year,” said Daniele. “It is an honor to recognize the incredible young citizens and youth advocates from our community alongside County Executive Cheryl Dinolfo and my fellow County Legislators.”

This year, there were two special award winners for the 2017 County Executive’s Award and 2017 President’s Award. County Executive Dinolfo presented the County Executive’s Award to Youth Advocate, Sue Sodoma, who leads Brockport High School’s Career Internship Program to ensure that students have a successful experience in their chosen career field and make meaningful connections with business partners.

Legislature President Anthony Daniele presented the 2017 President’s Award to Zorah Mae Burress. Zorah is active at Burger Middle School as WEB Leader where she mentors incoming sixth grade students. Zorah also helps students with special needs get involved in after school clubs and activities. When not helping others in school, Zorah travels on mission trips to help teach deaf students.

Area recipients of the 2017 Youth Awards are as follows:

YOUNG CITIZEN OF THE YEAR (Ages 12 and Under):

Zachary Canning, Pittsford, NY 14534, Legislative District 10


Elise Lupisella, Henrietta, NY 14467, Legislative District 5

Elise Lupisella dedicates much of her free time helping others through organizations such as Relay for Life. She also travels to Nicaragua to help build schools; she also interacts with children and teaches them games. Elise is also a peer helper in school where she assists new students, volunteers at school functions and promotes kindness in the school.


Josh Alcorn, Mendon, NY 14506, Legislative District 5

Josh is a very active student at Honeoye Falls-Lima High School. He has been involved in Student Council for the three years that he has been in high school and serves as the Junior Class President.

Josh has a passion for history, government and politics which is displayed in his involvement in the Honeoye Falls Lima community and his love for debate.
In addition to his academic achievements, Josh loves sports and plays on the varsity baseball team and is an assistant to the freshman basketball team.

Tyler Selke, Honeoye Falls, NY 14472, Legislative District 5

Tyler is a hard working student at Honeoye Falls Lima High School who challenges himself in the classroom by taking advanced and dual enrollment courses.

Tyler has taken on leadership roles on his athletic teams including the golf, football and basketball teams and has maintained a high grade point average.

Tyler has been an advocate for special needs students in his community. He has been a key player in the creation of a Unified basketball team to get students with special needs on the court. Tyler feels it is important to accept, include and respect everyone.

Grace Lucille Fjermedal, Pittsford, NY 14534, Legislative District 10

Nathan Czapranski, Scottsville, NY 14546, Legislative District 12

Levi Silvarole, Scottsville, NY 14546, Legislative District 12

Connor Smith, Scottsville, NY 14546, Legislative District 12

Thomas Snyder, Scottsville, NY 14546, Legislative District 12

Preston Spence, Scottsville, NY 14546, Legislative District 12


Robert Meehan, Honeoye Falls, NY 14472, Legislative District 5

Rob has been involved in the Honeoye Falls community for years and has been especially active in youth athletics.

Rob began coaching HFL youth football over thirty years ago and has been president of the organizations for the past eight years.
Rob has been consistently devoted to young athletes in the community and continues to build athletic programs in the community.



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 MHFL Sentinel

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?